Burleson County, Texas
30 23.848' N 96 39.248' W
Directions: Start at the intersection of CR-406 and FM-2774. The cemetery is on the southwest corner of the intersection. Historical Marker: In 1884, several Moravian Czech families established farms in this area, naming the community Frenstat, or Friendsted, for Frenstat, Czechoslovakia. Alois and Veronica Polansky deeded 20 acres for a school, church and cemetery in 1887. The community built Our Lady of Holy Rosary Catholica Church and called the associated cemetery St. John's, Frenstat Catholic, or Our Lady of Holy Rosary Cemetery. The first burial by a priest was that of Frank Marek (d. 1890). Today, the cemetery is the final resting place of military veterans, priests and hundreds of area residents. It remains a testament to the area's Czech heritage. Supplemental plate: Adolf (not Alois) and Veronica Polansky deeded the land for the Frenstat school, church and cemetery in 1887 for the sum of $100.