Thank you for your patience while we retrieve your images.
Taken 9-Sep-17
Visitors 18

8 of 30 photos
Categories & Keywords

Subcategory Detail:
Photo Info

Dimensions4288 x 2848
Original file size6.27 MB
Image typeJPEG
Color spacesRGB
Date taken9-Sep-17 11:50
Shooting Conditions

Camera modelNIKON D90
FlashNot fired, auto mode
Exposure modeAuto
Exposure prog.Unknown
ISO speedISO 200
Metering modePattern
Digital zoom1x
Helena Union Church

Helena Union Church

Helenabr/Karnes County, Texasbr/28 57.041' N 97 49.226' W Directions: Start at the intersection of FM-81 and CR-302. The marker is on the southeast corner of the br/Text: Example of religious toleration in frontier Texas. Site was used early as 1866 by Methodists, whose church was quot;free to any Christian denomination for worship, (and) subject to use of Helena Schoolquot;. Trustees of that church were T. K. Bailey, James D. Campbell, Thomas Chandler, Isaac Conway, D. I. Johnson, Hiram McLand and William C. Mayfield. Helena Union Church (seen here) was built on same site in 1875 when Helena had 1,000 people and was county seat. A group of 58 (with John Ruckman, treasurer, and T. K. Bailey, secretary) subscribed $746 to build this church quot;of first class pine lumber covered with juniper shinglesquot;. The church was to have three trustees- one each from the Baptist, Methodist and Presbyterian faiths. The congregations took turns holding services; however, townspeople attended all services, regardless of differences in creed. Use of building was open to all Orthodox faiths. Early ministers were circuit-riders. Protestant services were continued until about 1925 and intermittently thereafter. Building was used by Catholics briefly in the early 1950s. Moved and restored 1969 by Old Helena Foundation.